Everything you ever wanted to know about NAMI Ohio.

Learn more about our mission, our history, our team, and our staff.

Our mission

To improve the quality of life and ensure dignity and respect for persons with serious mental illness, and offer support to their families and close friends.

Our history

NAMI Ohio (National Alliance on Mental Illness of Ohio) was created in 1982 by a small, dedicated group of family members to provide mutual support, education, and advocacy for individuals and families affected by serious brain disorders. Over the years, our membership has expanded to include family members, mental health consumers and providers, community mental health boards, mental health organizations and other supporters.

As a grassroots organization advocating for mental health issues, NAMI Ohio has an outstanding history of affecting public policy and legislation regarding care and resources for persons with serious mental illness. NAMI Ohio members testify before the General Assembly, educate business and education leaders, and sit on state planning and advisory committees, Community Mental Health Boards, and various task forces. NAMI Ohio’s network of 39 local affiliates, serving most of Ohio’s counties, plays an active role providing support, education, and advocacy on a local level.

Our team

NAMI Ohio Board of Directors Officers

Jack Sherman


Email Jack

Janet Polzer


Email Janet

Judge Joyce Campbell

First Vice President

Email Judge Joyce

Tom Standish


Email Tom

Lovell Custard

Second Vice President

Email Lovell

NAMI Ohio Board of Directors

At large

Scott Boone

Email Scott

Jeanneth Johnson

Email Jeanneth

Central / Southeast Region

Etta Almon

Karen Cousins

Email Karen

Andrea Frohne

Email Andrea

Marcia Knapp

Email Marcia

Anne Walker

Email Anne

Northeast Region

Bob Spada

Email Bob

Lori D'Angelo

Email Lori

Mackenzie Varkula, MD

Email Mackenzie

Doug Smith, M.D.

Email Doug

Northwest Region

Mark Krieger

Email Mark

Jessica Schmitt

Email Jessica

Christine Wierman

Email Christine

Peggy Lomax

Email Peggy

Eric McKee

Email Eric

Julie Nowak

Email Julie

Southwest Region

Heather Turner

Email Heather

Gloria Walker

Email Gloria

Lee Dunham

Email Lee

Catherine Morris

Email Catherine

Valerie Walker

Email Valerie

Consumer Council Representative

Quentin Monden

Email Quentin

NAMI Ohio Staff

Terry Russell

Executive Director

Email Terry

Stacey Smith

Director of Operations

Email Stacey

Katie Dillon-Luli

Communications & Outreach

Email Katie

Karen Lindberg

Director of Programs & Affiliate Support

Email Karen

Dustin McKee

Director of Policy

Email Dustin

Emy-lynn Marhulik

Helpline Coordinator & OACFA Associate Director

Email Emylynn

Jody Demo-Hodgins

Director of Children's Division

Email Jody

Angela Lariviere

YouthMOVE Ohio Program Director

Email Angela

Angela Schoepflin

Children's Program Administrator

Email Angela

Dana Berryman

Statewide Coordinator – PAC Program

Email Dana